sex, money, and miscellany: talking about what matters

let’s talk about sex

In Uncategorized on November 5, 2009 at 6:00 am

One of my esteemed colleagues said on election day that a huge part of the problem with equal rights legislation for glbt folks is not about glbt anything, but about our strange attitudes toward sexuality in this country. We continue to teach our children that sex is evil, bad, wrong, the place where sin begins…and then we immerse them in a culture that uses sex to sell everything from tripods to toilet paper.

He’s got a point. My religion has an adult sex ed curriculum for people who are willing to (1) come to church (2) sign up for a six week class about sex. But there are a lot of people for whom that’s too much. I’m starting to get an idea, though. I think we need Let’s Talk About Sex one-shot workshops for adults. Give me…say three hours and at least eight participants. These are beginner classes, classes for people who want to develop their vocabularies and abilities to talk about sex in a non-erotic context. We’ll work on language, personal beliefs, ethics, conversation skills, attitudes, and saying what we mean without stuttering. We’ll have some exercises, some paired work, and some stuff we do with the whole class.

What do you think?

  1. I agree and I think that’s a great idea.

  2. I’d come to that. Absolutely.

  3. I would sign up.

  4. I think that a class like this would be the first step toward having an open dialogue about sexuality in religious communities. I don’t know much about how religious people deal with sexuality aside from what I see in the news, so it would be interesting to see how something like this would pan out. Cool!

Leave a Reply

