sex, money, and miscellany: talking about what matters

getting clear

In Uncategorized on December 28, 2009 at 12:35 pm

There’s a lot of clearing out at New Year’s. There’s house cleaning, closet clearing, and Boxing Day, which was traditionally not the day when people beat each other up, but instead the day when one’s old things were boxed up to give to those who needed them. For those who like them, there are resolutions: to get thinner, exercise more, spend less.

And if we take these days of rest to listen closely, intently, to tune in, we start to hear that still, small voice speak up and we can almost take dictation on what to let go.

For me, it always starts with the food. I don’t have a lot of tolerance for rich and sweet foods, but I like the way they taste. Usually I eat vegetables and protein and complex carbohydrates, mostly. I don’t know if it’s the shorter days or the colder weather, but come November I start craving candy and chocolate and butter and oil. I give in a little, I restrain myself a little, at parties I don’t really worry about what I’m eating…and right around December 26th I’m done. I’m totally done. I don’t even want eggs. I want vegetables, steamed; fish, broiled; water, plain, and with lemon and lime. I want flavors that cut across my tongue with the precision of a surgeon’s knife and leave my mouth clean.

As I type I have sprouts almost sprouted, orange peels by my elbow, a glass of water beyond that. It’s almost a brand new year, a brand new decade. What does clear feel like for you?

Leave a Reply

