sex, money, and miscellany: talking about what matters

incentive

In Uncategorized on June 14, 2010 at 4:20 pm

So I’ve been thinking a LOT about organizational change and development. A lot. Way, way more than might make sense, given that I’m not in charge of anybody but myself at work right now. But it’s fascinating, and engaging, and might have a serious impact on my future–it’s THAT interesting. Here’s a fabulous video where Daniel Pink talks about something interesting: when you pay people enough money that they don’t have to think about money, more money doesn’t motivate them. What does? Find out:

hint: this is why a mission statement really DOES matter.

Now my question: is this a GenX thing, or does it hold for millenials? (I think it might hold. Millenials already want to make the world a better place.)

What do you think?

  1. I think it’s totally true. And I am firmly in the millenial camp.

    Money allows me to pay my bills and eat, but volunteerism and innovation is what makes me happy and want to do more. I know that this wasn’t strictly about volunteerism but that’s where my mind went with it.

Leave a Reply

